2017 Challenges

Okay, so here’s the plan: every year, I’m going to set myself some challenges that I’ll try to accomplish in the aviation world. These challenges should reflect my progress in some way, e.g., new flying locations, ratings or aircraft types. So, considering that I’m a bloody beginner, what should be my challenges for this year?

Challenge #1: PA-28

I’ve flown the lovely Piper PA-28 a few times already (my second ever lesson was in a 140hp Cherokee!), but I’ve done most of my training in a Cessna 152. The two-seated C152 is one of the classic trainers, and I’d love to leave them now for all the future aviators that start their training this year.

This year, I’ll focus on flying the PA-28. It’s a four-seater, so I can take more passengers, and it’s still affordable.

Challenge #2: Fly far away!

PA230040.JPG

Up until now, my longest trip was my QXC, when I flew G-BPEO all the way down to Cardiff. I’ve never been further away from home in a plane that I’ve flown myself.

I came up with a short list of locations I’d like to fly to this year:

  • Islay, Scotland
  • Isles of Scilly
  • Bruges, Belgium
  • Newtownards, Northern Ireland

The challenge is completed if I make it to any of those locations this year.

Challenge #3: Extending the license

My third challenge will involve some kind of rating or differences training. I’d love to get some sort of instrument rating at some point, but with the full IR being too expensive in the UK I’d go with the IR(R), which is a 15h course. So this challenge is completed if I have done any of the following ratings/differences:

  • Fly 10 hours and start the IR(R) training
  • Retractable Gear
  • Taildragger
  • Grass strips
  • Variable Pitch Propeller / Constant Speed Propeller
2 thoughts on “2017 Challenges

  1. Hi
    I’m just coming up to my QXC and I think a lot about the ‘What next?” question, too. Hopefully, I’ll qualify before the summer and then the plan is to:
    – build some hours – summer’17. I’ve a few routes planned and currently thinking historic buildings from the air as VRP/points of interest en-route
    – cross-channel/Jersey check out summer’17
    – get on to IMC over the winter’17 – to give me options
    – more hour-building through spring’18
    – I think then Aerobatics summer’18 – for skills building
    I’m learning on PA-28s and quite fancy trying a high-wing.
    Anyway, good luck!
    Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Chris

      Good to hear you have plans for the time after the PPL! I hear of many students who seemingly don’t know what to do with their license and just stop flying.

      I definitely recommend the IR(R), it really improved my flying already, and I haven’t even finished it yet!

      Good luck with your QXC and skills test!

      Felix

      Like

Leave a Reply

